Chapman Freeborn blog

A Quick Guide to the The Boeing B777

The Boeing B777 deservedly takes pride of place within the fleet of most major airlines around the world. Commonly known at the Triple Seven, the aircraft boasts a fantastic reputation within the industry due to its outstanding performance and reliability.


Since its introduction in July of 1995, Boeing has expanded the B777 range to six types of aircraft, including five passenger jets and a freighter. All members of the family are long-range twin-engine jets, and as of January 2015 there have been 1,200 produced. This extensive availability of the Triple Seven has allowed for almost five million flights within its first 20 years of commission, complemented by an exceptional safety record.

The B777 can reach altitudes of over 41,000 feet and fly at a speed of 560mph. Due to its design, this speed can be dramatically increased when tailwind is applied. In January, a flight between New York and Heathrow arrived an hour and a half ahead of schedule after speeds of 745mph were achieved.


Not only can passengers of the B777 expect a swift journey to their destination, but also comfort and peace of mind. As the world’s largest twinjet, it contains one of the most spacious air cabins of any passenger airliner. The vessels accommodate wide cabins, high ceilings and top of the range soundproofing, guaranteeing a quiet and relaxed flight.


Boeing takes the utmost pride in its Triple Seven product range, and with 70 of the world’s major airlines as loyal customers, it is easy to understand why. Anticipation is currently brewing for the introduction of a new B777 family, the B777X. Boeing claims that the predecessor is the “global flagship of the world’s elite airlines. And now with the 777X, that’s not likely to change anytime soon.”


First image courtesy of skinnylawyer

Second image courtesy of golfking1

Third image courtesy of sebastro

Fourth image courtesy of flissphil